Wisconsin Junior/U-18 Championships in Portage

Portage Curling Club is hosting the Wisconsin Junior/U18 Championships,  Dec. 16-18.  Along with the traditional Junior Men's and Women's Championships, for the first time ever, U18 championships will also be decided.  As it's name suggest, U18 competitions are open only to junior curlers who were under age 18, on June 30 of this year.   Five boys teams have signed up.  They are:

1. Rob Shlimovitz, Portage  - defending champions

    Rob Shlimovitz, Cody Falk, Ben Miller, Alex Vorpahl

2. Nick Steinhaus, Kettle Moraine

   Nick Steinhaus,  John Paul Munich, Josh Heimerl, Mitch Wilson, Clay Osterhaus

3. Ryan Elwing, Wauwatosa


    Ryan Elwing, Trevor Marquardt,  Connor Hipke,  Robert Hipke,  Michael Elwing

4.  Jackson Armstrong, Wausau

    Jackson Armstrong, Christopher, Kirsch, Wesley Wendling, John Wilkerson

5.  Gabriel Koepke, Green Bay

     Gabriel Koepke,  Connor Krupp, Dillon Krupp Brody Olsen, Adam Strassburg

All  teams will compete for the Wisconsin Junior Championship.  In addition, the Elwing, Armstrong and Koepke teams will be competing in the  Boys U18 Competition.  The winner of the U18 event will compete in Cedarburg for the National U18 Championship,  March 8-12, 2017.

Four Girls teams make up the field, with all teams playing simultaneously for the Wisconsin Junior Championship, and the Wisconsin U18 Girls Championship.  These teams are:

1.   Viau, Stevens Point

       Suzanna Viau,  Andrea McDonald Rachel Kawleski, Elizabeth Vorpahl

2.  Crotty, Pardeeville

      DaKotak Crotty, Kayla Guenther, Ashton Osterhaus, Tiahna Lewer

3.  Armstrong, Appleton

      Anna Armstrong, Abby Dollevoet, Anita Ecrose, Chloe Knuppel

4.  Rubenzer, Portage

      Elizabeth Rubenzer, Anissa Zaske, Krista Domaszek, Jaycie Korth

The winning girls team will represent the Badger State in the National U18 Championship, Cedarburg, March 8-12, 2017

Office spreadsheet icon Drawsheetv2.xls41 KB