Wisconsin Club Champions Crowned at Madison

Home ice proved an advantage as two rinks from Madison claimed Club Team Championships on Dec. 17.  Debbie McCormick led her team to an undefeated record on the Women's side over teams skipped by Lori Karst and Mary Parker, both also from Madison.  Curling with Debbie were Miranda Hoffman, Rebecca Reinhart, and Shelly Kosal.

On the Men's side Dave Brown held off a comeback attempt by Ryan Spielman, of Blackhawk by 8-7 in the championship game.  15 men's teams competed for the title with 9 of them from Madison.  However, the seeds held true to form with Brown grabbing the top seed, Spielman second, and Irvin Mossberger from Superior in third. In one semi Spielman defeated Mossberger, while Brown took care of clubmate Mike Fraboni in the other semi.  Rounding out  Brown's team was his son Dan Brown, Patrick Roe, Jeremy Roe, and Mark Hartman.  Brown also finished off the weekend with a perfect 6-0 record.

The Champion rinks now move on to the National Championships, hosted by the Brainerd, MN Curling Club, Feb. 10-17.