Viau and Marquardt Rinks win State Junior Championships/U-18

Suzanna Viau from Stevens Point and Trevor Marquardt from Poynette skipped their teams to State Championships on the ice at the Wausau Curling Center,  on December 29.  Viau compiled a record of 5-1 against the other three teams in the girls' bracket. Curling with her were Rachel Kawleski- Stevens Point, Ashton Osterhaus - Pardeeville, and Elizabeth  Rubenzer from Stevens Point.

Trevor Marquardt of Poynette has now moved up to skip the team he was vice for last year - the Michael Elwing team from Wauwatosa.  The team won the U-18 National  Championship last year, but now Elwing has aged out, giving  over control of the team to Marquardt.   The rink looks to give a strong defense of their U-18 National Championship as they made it through Wisconsin undefeated against the other four boys' teams.  Curling with Trevor are  Ryan Elwing, andConnor Hipke  from Wauwatosa and Coleman Thurston from Poynette.

The winning teams will now go on to represent Wisconsin in the U-18 National Championships slated for Bemidji  MN Curling Club,   Feb. 20-25, 2018.  Runner-up teams, Samantha Jones from Portage with Abigail Marquardt, Elizabeth Vorpahl, Anna Armstrong, and Halie Maier, and Gabriel Koepke  with Connor Krupp, Dillon Krupp, Brody Olson and Adam Strassburg all from Green Bay will be making their first tript to the National Championships as well.  Congratulations to the winning teams, and best of luck at Nationals!